Hamilton-Wenham Public Library

Murder in the afternoon, Frances Brody - (hbk.)

Summary
"An intricate plot in the post-WWI English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) combine in this absorbing mystery perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie. Dead one minute... Young Harriet and her brother Austin have always been scared of the quarry where their stone mason father works. So when they find him dead on the cold ground, they rush off quickly to look for some help. Alive the next? When help arrives, however, the quarry is deserted and there is no sign of the body. Were the children mistaken? Is their father not dead? Did he simply get up and run away? A sinister disappearing act It seems like another unusual case requiring the expertise of Kate Shackleton--and Mary Jane, the children's mother, is adamant that only she can help. But Mary Jane is hiding something--a secret from Kate's past that raises the stakes and puts both Kate and her family at risk"--, Provided by publisher
Language
eng
Literary Form
fiction
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Note
"First published in Great Britain by Piatkus"--Title page verso
Physical Description
387 pages, 22 cm.
Isbn
9781250037022

Library Locations

  • Hamilton-Wenham Public Library

    14 Union Street, South Hamilton, MA, 01982, US
    Borrow