Coverart for item
The Resource Empire city, Matt Gallagher

Empire city, Matt Gallagher

Label
Empire city
Title
Empire city
Statement of responsibility
Matt Gallagher
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Book Description The author of the "urgent and deeply moving" (The New York Times) Youngblood returns with this bold and provocative novel following a group of super-powered soldiers and civilians as they navigate an imperial America on the precipice of a major upheaval-for fans of The Fortress of Solitude and The Plot Against America. Thirty years after its great triumph in Vietnam, the United States has again become mired in an endless foreign war overseas. Stories of super soldiers known as the Volunteers tuck in little American boys and girls every night. Yet domestic politics are aflame. Violent protests erupt throughout the nation; an ex-military watchdog group clashes with police while radical terrorists threaten to expose government experiments within the veteran rehabilitation colonies. Halfway between war and peace, the Volunteers find themselves waiting for orders in the vast American city-state, Empire City. There they encounter a small group of civilians who know the truth about their powers, including Sebastian Rios, a young bureaucrat wrestling with survivor guilt, and Mia Tucker, a wounded army pilot-turned-Wall Street banker. Meanwhile, Jean-Jacques Saint-Preux, a Haitian-American Volunteer from the International Legion, decides he'll do whatever it takes to return to the front lines. Through it all, a controversial retired general emerges as a frontrunner in the presidential campaign, promising to save the country from itself. Her election would mean unprecedented military control over the country, with promises of security and stability-but at what cost? Featuring Gallagher's "vital" (The Washington Post), "evocative" (The Wall Street Journal) prose, Empire City is a rousing vision of an alternate-yet all too familiar-America on the brink"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Gallagher, Matt
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3607.A4154415
LC item number
E47 2020
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Soldiers
  • Imaginary wars and battles
  • Vietnam War, 1961-1975
  • Military government
  • United States
Label
Empire city, Matt Gallagher
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1105941274
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
351 pages
Isbn
9781501177798
Lccn
2019039694
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1105941274
Label
Empire city, Matt Gallagher
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1105941274
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
351 pages
Isbn
9781501177798
Lccn
2019039694
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1105941274

Library Locations

    • Hamilton-Wenham Public LibraryBorrow it
      14 Union Street, South Hamilton, MA, 01982, US
      42.6118166 -70.8797517
Processing Feedback ...